Covert Classic Conservatives
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I remember!

4 posters

Go down

I remember! Empty I remember!

Post by Bladerunner Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:43 pm

I remember!.
Blade Runner
July 20, 2010

I remember the day, May 5th, 1961, when USN Commander Alan Shepard, in his Mercury capsule Freedom 7, rode a Redstone rocket to become the first American in space. I was a Petty Officer 3rd in the Navy then, and for both Commander Shepard and me, JFK was our Commander in Chief. My duties as an Aviation Electronic Tech, whether at the test bench in the shop or at my flight station aboard the P2V Neptune, seemed so insignificant compared to Shepard's mission. Yet, I felt proud of my branch of service, proud to be an American, and in some small way, felt like I was part of the team. On May 25, 1961, twenty days after Shepard completed his mission, President Kennedy challenged the nation.

"I believe," he said, "that this nation should commit itself to achieving the goal, before this decade is out, of landing a man on the moon and returning him safely to the Earth."

My fellow "Swabbies" and I thought, "Man! How cool is that?"

Throughout the next six years, I cheered the progress of the Mercury and Gemini missions. I could name all the astronauts, name their ships, and the missions they flew.